

OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Mohican State Park Lodge Thursday, October 5, 2017 12:00pm – 1:15pm

Presiding: David Schneider, President

David began by introducing the Board of Directors & LAC Co-Chairs. The AACRAO Representative, Jim Bouse, current President AACRAO & Director of Enrollment Management Technology, Associate Registrar University of Oregon.

David presented AACRAO rep Jim Bouse with a gift on behalf of OACRAO.

David introduced the Past-Presidents in attendance: Carol Jones, Deb Benton, Jeannine Shambaugh, Dan Wilson, Mel Severns, Jack Miner, Frank Yanchak, Dave Sauter.

David shared the names of the year's retirees, Jack Campbell from Wittenberg University, Laurie Mayhew from Otterbein University and Dave Sauter from Miami University.

David thanked LAC Co-chairs Stephanie Giese from The Ohio State University and Jeannine Shambaugh from Aultman College of Nursing for their work.

David introduced Sue Shepherd, the LAC Exhibitor Coordinator, who introduce the 13 exhibitors.

David officially called the 91<sup>st</sup> meeting to order at 12:15PM. and appointed Dave Sauter as Parliamentarian.

David reminded members that the names of our operational committee members were included in the slide show being shown during the meeting. He encouraged members to complete the committee participation forms that were on each table.

David gave the President's report. In it, he highlighted the group's Big Idea's for the year and what was accomplished. Project such as the continuation of the Summer Leadership Series, OACRAO Involvement Transcript, Wednesday's lunch for new members and BOD, Ideapoloza program structure and returning M&M tags for conference, adding LAC to Google Drive, future conference site contracts with Sawmill Creek and Ohio State Parks and the possibility of a GLC-ACRAO in 2022 in Columbus.

Next, David asked for approval of the minutes from the 2016 annual meeting.

Mel Severns motioned for approval.

Carol Jones seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

David introduced Carol Jones, Chair of the Fiscal Committee and Michelle Rable, Treasurer.

Michelle introduced the Treasurer's Report and budget. She also presented the balance sheet and 2017 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote.

Carol reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Carol presented the 2017-2018 budget and asked for any questions.

Carol asked for a motion to approve the 2017-2018 budget.

Liz Clerkin made the motion.

Michelle Rable seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the 2017-2018 budget.

Next, Carol provided a report of the Bylaw Committee, stating that they were reviewed at the Town Hall meeting that morning, and asked for any final questions.

Carol introduced Mary Holland, Vice President Program.

Mary thanked all for contributing to the Ideapoloza and making this a successful conference. She also recapped the workshops that were held during the past year. She also explained how continued early planning for the coming year will benefit the workshops, conference, and OSI next year. She introduced committee chairs and asked committee members to stand for recognition. Mary reminded everyone to complete committee participation forms, and announced that there would be a program-planning meeting in March 2018. All members of the four program committees should attend.

Mary then introduced Liz Clerkin, Vice President Membership Development.

Liz gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all Membership and Mentoring Committee (M&M) members to stand and be recognized. There were 33 new members who attended, and them and their mentors were asked to stand be acknowledged.

Liz introduced Tracy Galway, Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

Tracy gave an overview of committee activities during the past year and announced that scholarship recipient information is available on the tables. She stated that this year's applications are being received. The 50/50 Raffle will be drawn during the exhibitor reception. She asked the committee to stand to be recognized. Tracy said the silent auction will close at 4:45 p.m. and pick-up and payment can be made Friday morning.

Tracy then introduced Donna Evans, Secretary and Chair of the Communication Committee.

Donna gave an overview of the committee's activities, and thanked all those who contributed articles and pictures for the monthly OACRAO Newsletters. Special thanks to the Communications Committee: Cindy Suter and Michelle Livingston, newsletter editors; Bob Bulow and Paula Collier, Webmasters; David Schneider, List Serve Manager; Stephanie Giese, Photographer; Justin Weimer, Social Media Coordinator; and Cindy Davis, Stephanie Brown, and Lee Furbeck for serving the committee. It was noted to send future articles Justin Weimer, new chair.

Donna then introduced David Schneider.

David returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions: Government Relations Task Force, Regina Randall from Columbus State Community College

David presented plaques to outgoing Board members:

Past President, Carol Jones from Miami University.

Vice President for Membership Development, Liz Clerkin from Oberlin College.

Vice President for Programs, Mary Holland from Wright State University.

Secretary, Donna Evans from Antioch College.

David asked if there was any old business. There was none.

David introduced Carol Jones, Past-President and chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee.

Carol had members of the Nominations and Elections Committee stand and be recognized and thanked them for their work.

Carol announced newly elected members of the Board of Directors: President Elect, Sue Shepherd from Aultman College of Nursing. Vice President for Membership Development, Sun Jamerson from Lorain Community College. Vice President for Programs, Bob Bulow from Ohio University. Secretary, Justin Weimer from The Ohio State University. Appointed as Vice President for Workshops, Molly McDermott from University of Cincinnati.

Carol announced newly elected Nominations and Elections Committee members: Past Presidents: Deb Benton from Ohio University. Frank Yanchak from Franklin University. At-Large Members: Amanda Steel-Middleton from Wright State University. Cindy Suter from Heidelberg University.

Carol announced Special Recognition and Honorary Awards:

Linus J. Ryland Award: Jeannine Shambaugh, Aultman College of Nursing. Honorary Member: Dave Sauter, Miami University.

Dave Sauter spoke about his career over the years, and OACRAO andAACRAO experiences. He also spoke on friends, mentors, his family and parents; life choices and retirement; and encouraged everyone to get involved and join a committee.

David then gave his remarks as outgoing President. President Schneider reported it was another successful year for OACRAO, and offered remarks that highlighted activities throughout the year, and thanked volunteers for their service. David then passed the gavel to incoming President Beth DaLonzo.

Beth made opening comments about how she wanted to keep the organization moving forward. She mentioned great mentors and taking notes to onboard as President. Beth reminded everyone that there would be a presentation on the 2018 OACRAO conference, and at the closing on Friday there will be a drawing for a free registration (must be present to win). Next year's OACRAO Conference will be held at Sawmill Creek Resort, October 3-5, 2018.

Beth asked for a motion to adjourn.

Donna Evans made a motion to adjourn.

Carol Jones seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 1:30PM.