

OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Deer Creek State Park Lodge Thursday, October 6, 2016 11:45am – 1:25pm

Presiding: Carol Jones, President

Carol began by introducing the Board of Directors, the AACRAO Representative, Scott Dittman, and the Past-Presidents in attendance.

Carol shared the names of the year's retirees, Tom, Westindorf in March, Patsy Martin in September, Brad Myers in November and Susie Ward in December.

Carol thanked LAC Co-chairs Frank Yanchak from Franklin University and Shelly McMahon from Ohio Wesleyan University for their work.

Carol introduced Sue Shepherd, the LAC Exhibitor Coordinator, who introduce the 15 Exhibitors.

Carol officially called the meeting to order at 12:20 p.m. and appointed Brad Myers as Parliamentarian.

Carol reminded members that the names of committee members were included in the slide show that was being presented during the meeting. She encouraged members to complete the committee participation forms that were placed on each table.

Carol gave the President's report highlighting the accomplishments of the group for the year.

Next, Carol asked for approval of the minutes from the 2015 annual meeting.

Cindy Davis motioned for approval.

Shelly McMahon seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

Carol introduced Deb Benton, Chair of the Fiscal Committee and Patrick Beatty, Treasurer.

Patrick introduced the Treasurer's Report and budget. He also presented the balance sheet and 2016 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote.

Deb reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Deb presented the 2017 budget and asked for any questions.

Carol asked for a motion to approve the 2017 budget.

Jeannine Shambaugh made the motion.

Mel Severns seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the 2017 budget.

Next, Deb introduced the proposed bylaw changes, stating that they were reviewed at the Town Hall meeting that morning, and asked for any final questions. The friendly amendment was noted.

Carol asked for a motion to approve the bylaw changes.

Dan Wilson made the motion to approve.

Mel Severns seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the bylaw changes.

Deb introduced Mary Holland, Vice President/Program.

Mary thanked all for contributing to a successful conference. She introduced committee chairs and asked committee members to stand for recognition. Mary reminded everyone to complete committee participation forms, and announced that there would be a program planning will be in March next year. All members of the four program committees should attend.

Mary then introduced Beth DaLonzo, Vice President/Workshops.

Beth gave an overview of workshops during the past year and discussed the planning for 2017 workshops.

Beth introduced Liz Clerkin, Vice-President/Membership Development.

Liz gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all Membership and Mentoring Committee (M&M) members to stand and be recognized. There are 51 new members in attendance this year and Liz asked them and their mentors to stand and be acknowledged.

Liz introduced Tracy Galway, Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

Tracy gave an overview of committee activities during past year and announced that scholarship recipient information is available on the tables. She stated that this year's applications are being received. She asked the committee to stand to be recognized. Tracy said silent auction will close today at 4:45 p.m. and pick-up and payment can be made Friday morning. Tracy then introduced Donna Evans, Secretary and chair of the Communication Committee.

Donna encouraged members to continue to respond to list serve posts, read the monthly newsletter, refer to the OACRAO website and encouraged membership to send in items for the monthly newsletters. She then asked Communications Committee members to stand and be acknowledged and thanked for their individual positions on the committee: web master-Angela Ford, list-serve manager-David Schneider, newsletter editors-Cynthia Suiter and Mollie Miller and Michelle Livingston (former proofreader, who will replaces Mollie), website editor-Bob Bulow, social media coordinator-Stephanie Brown (not present), photographer/special liaison-Stephanie Giese, and special liaison-Cindy Davis.

Carol returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions:

Government Relations Task Force, Regina Randall, Columbus State Community College

Carol presented plaques to outgoing Board members:

Vice President for Workshops – Beth DaLonzo, Muskingum University Treasure – Patrick Beatty, Ohio University Past President – Deb Benton, Ohio University Carol called all attending OACRAO Summer Institute (OSI) participants up to the front. Carol and Deb awarded each participant their certificate and group photo to all those present.

Carol asked if there was any old business. There was none.

Carol then introduced Deb Benton, Past-President and chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee

Deb had members of the Nominations and Elections Committee stand and be recognized and thanked them for their work.

Deb announced newly elected members of the Board of Directors:

Vice President for Workshops – Tina Hummons, Sinclair Community College Treasure – Michelle Rable, Lourdes University President Elect – Beth DaLonzo, Muskingum University

Deb announced newly elected Nominations and Elections Committee members:

Past Presidents – Mel Severns, Mount Vernon Nazarene University
Jack Miner, The Ohio State University
At-Large Members – Cindy Davis, The Ohio State University
Sue Shepherd, Aultman College

Deb announced Special Recognition & Honorary Awards:

Garland G. Parker Award: Dan Wilson, Muskingum University Linus J. Ryland Award: Sue Shepherd, Altman College of Nursing Honorary Member: Susie Ward, The Ohio State University Honorary Member: Brad Myers, The Ohio State University

Brad Myers spoke about his first OACRAO Conference in 1989, when he was OACRAO President in 1998. Attending AACRAO Conferences and when he was acting AACRAO President in 2015. He also encouraged everyone to get involved and join a committee.

Carol then gave her remarks as outgoing President, and passed the gavel to David Schneider.

David made some opening comments and reminded everyone about the professional headshots being taken in the hallway and of next year's OACRAO Conference to be held at Mohican State Park, October 4-6, 2017.

David asked for a motion to adjourn.

Deb Benton made a motion to adjourn.

Chris Dorsten seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.