

## OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Salt Fork State Park Lodge Thursday, October 9, 2014 11:45am – 1:15pm

Presiding: Jeannine Shambaugh, President

Jeannine began by introducing the Board of Directors, the AACRAO President, Brad Myers, the AACRAO Representative, Tina Falkner, and the Past-Presidents in attendance.

A moment of silence was held to remember Past-President Glenn Davis and Honorary Member Gail Fredensborg.

Jeannine thanked LAC Co-chairs Don Foster and Sue Shepherd for their work. She then introduced Marian Brainerd, the LAC Exhibitor Coordinator, who in turn introduced the twelve Exhibitors.

Jeannine officially called the meeting to order at 12:13pm, and appointed Brad Myers as Parliamentarian.

Jeannine reminded members that the names of committee members were included in the slide show that was being presented during the meeting. She encouraged members to complete the committee participation forms that were placed on each table.

Next, Jeannine asked for approval of the minutes from the 2013 annual meeting

Carol Jones motioned for approval.

Jack Miner seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

Jeannine introduced David Schneider, Treasurer, and Dan Wilson, Chair of the Fiscal Committee.

David and Dan introduced the Treasurer's Report and budget. David presented the balance sheet and 2014 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote.

Dan reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Dan presented the 2015 budget and asked for any questions.

Jeannine asked for a motion to approve the 2015 budget.

David Schneider made the motion.

Connie Goodman seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the 2015 budget.

Next, Dan introduced the proposed bylaw changes, stating that they were reviewed at the Town Hall meeting that morning, and asked for any final questions.

Jeannine asked for a motion to approve the bylaw changes.

Dan made the motion to approve.

Jack Miner seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the bylaw changes.

Dan introduced Chris Dorsten, Vice President/Program.

Chris thanked all for contributing to a successful conference. He introduced committee chairs and asked committee members to stand for recognition. Chris reminded everyone to complete committee

participation forms, and announced that there would be a program planning meeting in February. All members of the four program committees should attend.

Chris then introduced Cheryl Gloege, Vice President/Workshop.

Cheryl gave an overview of workshops during the past year and discussed the planning for 2015 workshops.

Cheryl introduced Molly McDermott, Vice-President/Membership Development.

Molly gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all Membership and Mentoring Committee (M&M) members to stand and be recognized. There are eighteen new members in attendance at the meeting this year and Molly asked them and their mentors to stand and be acknowledged.

Molly introduced Steven Mentz, Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

Steven gave an overview of committee activities during past year and announced that scholarship recipient information is available on the tables. He stated that this year's applications are being received. He asked the committee to stand to be recognized. Steven said silent auction check-out will happen today at 6:15 p.m. Steven then introduced Cindy Davis, Secretary and chair of the Communication Committee.

Cindy encouraged members to continue to tweet during the conference and shared information on how to connect with OACRAO through social media. She then thanked web master, Connie Goodman, and list-serve manager, David Schneider, and former newsletter editor, Barb Arilson. Cindy then introduced the three current newsletter editors: Michelle Deist, Whitney Ellwood, and Mollie Miller.

Cindy introduced Brad Myers who shared some remarks about his journey to the AACRAO presidency and encouraged members to get involved.

Jeannine returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions:

Government Relations Committee, Chair Jack Miner Historian, Dave Sauter

Next Jeannine presented plaques to outgoing Board members:

Vice President/Workshops – Cheryl Gloege Treasurer – David Schneider Past-President – Dan Wilson

Jeannine asked if there was any old business. There was none.

Jeannine then introduced Dan Wilson, Past-President and chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee

Dan had members of the Nominations and Elections Committee stand and be recognized and thanked them for their work.

Dan announced newly elected members of the Board of Directors:

Treasurer – Patrick Beatty Vice President/Workshops – Beth Dalonzo President-Elect – Carol Jones

Next Dan announced newly elected Nominations and Elections Committee members:

Past Presidents – Jack Miner and Mel Severns At-Large Members – Janet Duber and Sue Shepherd

Dan announced Special Recognition & Honorary Awards

Linus J. Ryland Award: Marian Brainerd and Don Foster

Jeannine then gave her remarks as outgoing President, and passed the gavel to Deb Benton.

Deb made some opening comments and reminded everyone of the 2015 Conference to be held at Maumee Bay State Park near Toledo.

Deb asked for a motion to adjourn.

Cheryl Gloege made a motion to adjourn.

David Schneider seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 12:58pm