OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Sheraton Indianapolis Hotel at Keystone Crossing Thursday, November 7, 2013 11:30am – 1:15pm

Presiding: Dan Wilson, President

Dan began by introducing the Board of Directors, the Past-Presidents in attendance, and then introduced new retirees.

Dan thanked Janet Duber for her work on the Program Committee. Dan also reminded session hosts to return their evaluation forms after their sessions.

Dan asked everyone to visit the Silent Auction tables to bid on items to raise money for the OACRAO scholarships.

Next Dan thanked the exhibitors and introduced those in the room.

Dan officially called the meeting to order at 12:10pm, and appointed Brad Myers as Parliamentarian.

Dan reminded members to complete committee participation forms that were placed on each table.

Next, Dan asked for Approval of the Minutes from last annual meeting

Mel Severns motioned for approval.

Dave Sauter seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

Dan introduced David Schneider, Treasurer and Mel Severns, Chair of Fiscal Committee.

David and Mel introduced the Treasurer's Report and Budget. David presented the balance sheet and 2013 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote

Mel reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Mel presented the 2014 Budget and asked for any questions.

Dan asked for a motion to approve the 2014 Budget.

David Schneider made the motion.

Janet Duber seconded the motion.

The members approved the 2014 Budget.

Next Mel introduced the bylaw changes, stated that they were reviewed at the town hall meeting, and asked for any final questions.

Dan asked for a motion to approve the bylaw changes.

Mel made the motion to approve.

Sue Shepherd seconded the motion.

The members approved the bylaw changes.

Mel introduced Janet Duber, Vice President of Programs.

Janet thanked all for contributing to a successful conference. She introduced Committee chairs and asked committee members to stand with them for recognition. She asked all presenters to stand for recognition.

Janet reminded everyone to complete committee participation forms, and announced that there would be a Program Planning Meeting in February. All members of the four Program Committees should attend.

Janet then introduced Cheryl Gloege, Vice President for Workshops.

Cheryl gave an overview of workshops during past year, and discussed the planning for 2014 workshops.

Cheryl introduced Sue Shepherd, Vice-President, Membership Development.

Sue gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all M&M Members to stand and be recognized.

Sue introduced Steven Mentz, Chair, Scholarship Committee.

Steven gave an overview of committee activities during past year and announced that scholarship recipient information is available on the tables. He stated that this year's applications are being received. Next he asked the committee to stand to be recognized. Steven said silent auction check out will happen today at 5:30.

Dan returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions:

Government Relations Committee, Chair Scott Burnam Historian, Dave Sauter

Newsletter Editor, Barb Arilson

Web Master, Connie Goodman

Listserve Manager, David Schneider

New Social Media Coordinator, Molly McDermott

Next Dan presented plaques to outgoing Board members:

Vice President for Programs – Janet Duber

Vice President for Membership and Mentoring – Sue Shepherd

Past President - Mel Severns

Dan asked if there was any old business. There was none.

Dan then introduced Mel Severns, Past President and Chair the Nominations & Elections Committee

Mel asked members of Nominating Committee to stand and be recognized and thanked them for their service.

Mel announced newly appointed Board Members:

President-Elect – Debra Benton

Secretary – Cindy Davis

Vice President for Programs – Chris Dorsten

Vice President for Membership and Mentoring – Molly McDermott

Next Mel announced newly appointed Nominating Committee:

Past Presidents - Connie Goodman, and Wendy Lambing

At-Large Members - Misty Mahefky and Joshua Grace

Mel announced Special Recognition & Honorary Awards

Honorary membership: Kathy DiFranco

Ryland Award: Beth Egan and Jack Miner

Parker Award: Connie Goodman

Dan then gave his remarks as outgoing President, and passed the gavel to Mel-annine Shambaugh, Jeannine's "twin sister" aka Mel Severns.

"Melanine" made some opening comments in Jeannine's absence and reminded everyone of the 2014 Conference to be held at Salt Fork State Lodge near Cambridge.

Dan announced that the OACRAO Summer Institute would be held again next summer. He reminded members to vote in the AACRAO elections.

Dan asked for a motion to adjourn.

David made a motion to adjourn.

Cindy seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 12:54pm