# OACRAO Business and Recognition Luncheon Great Lakes Conference November 13, 2008

### **President's Report**

President Linda Young mentioned that participants will be receiving a questionnaire via listserv to evaluate conducting future Great Lake Conferences. Linda introduced past presidents, retiring members and recognized the Local Arrangements Committee. She also thanked Jack Miner for all of his assistance. President Young introduced the Board of Directors. She announced there were 31 exhibitors.

The Business Meeting was called to order at 12:13PM.

# Approval of 2007 OACRAO Business Meeting Minutes

Brad Myers motioned to approve the minutes and Lisa Kasunic seconded the motion. The minutes were approved with no revisions.

## **Approval of Treasurer's Report**

Jack Miner presented the annual Treasurer's Report. There were no objections to the report.

# Audit Committee Report

Sally Sikorski reported the Audit Committee met on September 15, 2008 to review the 2007 financial books and initiate the audit of the 2008 books. There were no issues raised.

# **Program Committee Report**

Cindy Suter announced that Brad Myers did most of the programming for the Great Lake Conference. She thanked Mary Holland and Linda Young. She announced that there was no Planning Committee Meeting scheduled for Friday, November 14, 2008. She recognized the current program Chairs and incoming Chairs.

### **Workshops Report**

Linda Young announced there was one workshop this year, the Residency Workshop, at Franklin University. There were 61 participants. She described Franklin Live, an interactive web-based video-conferencing program. This gives OACRAO an opportunity to have remote locations for conferences.

# **Membership and Mentoring Report**

Wendy Lambing announced there were 30 first-time attendees. She recognized the first time attendees and also recognized the mentors. She recognized everyone involved with a committee. She encouraged everyone to consider joining a committee by submitting a OACRAO Committee Participation Sign-up Form.

### **Scholarship Committee Report**

David Schneider announced the committee awarded 6 scholarships. There were 755 applications. There were 31 people on the committee. David recognized the sub-committee chairs. He announced that the Silent Auction would close at 5:30PM on Thursday and Split the Pot would be announced at dinner on Thursday. He referenced the possible changes to the Bylaws concerning the Scholarship Committee.

#### **Bylaws Committee Report**

Susan Schillings described the proposed changes to the Bylaws. She explained the changes to the Scholarship Committee on page 10 of the Bylaws. She also explained the proposed combination of the Budget and Audit Committee to form the Fiscal Committee. The Past-President would chair this committee. No questions concerning these changes were raised.

Dick Carpenter motioned to approve the changes to the Bylaws and Sally Sikorski seconded the motion. A vote was called and the Bylaws were approved by the membership.

#### **2009 Operating Budget Proposal**

Frank Yanchak requested approval of the 2009 proposed budget. There is no increase to the membership dues.

Lisa Kasunic motioned to approve and Dick Carpenter 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion.

The budget for 2009 was approved.

#### **Communication Committee**

Linda Young recognized Mary Southards as the Communication Committee Chair. Even though Mary was unable to attend the conference, she wanted to recognize her. She also thanked:

David Schneider – Listserv Newsletter – Cheryl Gloege Webmaster- Connie Goodman

### **Out-Going Board Members**

Linda Young recognized Jack Miner and Sue Schillings for their commitment and dedication to OACRAO.

**Old Business** No old business

### **New Business Nominating Committee** Sue Schillings announced the new committee members and new Board Members.

New Board Members Treva Hanseman – President-Elect Deb Benton - Vice-President for Workshops

## **Nominating/Elections Committee**

Dave Sauter Marian Hogue Becky Jolly Mel Severns

### **Honorary Membership**

Linda Young announced the OACRAO Honorary Membership for Jerry Vance and Dick Carpenter.

Linda addressed the members for the last time as President and Frank Yanchak addressed the members as new President.

Sue Schillings, Frank Yanchak and Jack Miner put on a creative skit promoting the 2009 Salt Fork OACRAO Conference. Frank dressed as a bear, Jack as a Park Ranger and Sue Schillings as a golfer!

# The meeting was adjourned at 1:30PM.